On August 25, 2022, a Texas judge ruled the state’s law prohibiting 18-to-20-year-olds from carrying a handgun for self-defense outside the home unconstitutional.
Gun Laws in Texas: An Interview with T. Edwin Walker, Emily William Taylor, and Richard D. Hayes III of Walker-Taylor, PLLC
We sat down with T. Edwin Walker, Emily William Taylor, and Richard D. Hayes III who co-wrote Texas Gun Law: Armed And Educated. Join us as we talk a bit about the subject of that book and what makes Texas gun laws unique.
U.S. LawShield®, industry leader and America’s foremost provider of educational resources on self-defense law and safe firearm ownership, announces President Kirk Evans as a guest on the popular National Police Association (NPA) podcast, the NPA Report. The podcast interview will air beginning on Sunday, June 5 at 10 AM ET and is available to watch on YouTube.com/NationalPoliceAssociation.
The decision to still obtain a carry permit in a permitless carry state will, of course, be highly dependent on the specific individual, their priorities, and their lifestyle. In many states, the permitting process is not exactly user-friendly. However, it is important to understand that IF your state legalizes permitless carry, whether open, concealed, or both, there are many reasons you will want to go through the permitting process. While this list certainly isn’t exhaustive, it should provide an excellent place to start thinking about what you want to do if you live in a constitutional carry state.
Now that the Firearms Carry Act of 2021—HB 1927, also known as Texas Constitutional Carry—passed, carrying guns without a Texas License to Carry (“LTC”) is becoming reality. If you’re wondering what that means for your existing LTC or if you should bother getting an LTC at all, the short answer is yes, an LTC is good to have. Read on for details about Texas Constitutional Carry, how to get your LTC, and why it’s such a great idea to have a license in the first place.
On June 16, 2021, Governor Greg Abbott signed HB 1927, the Firearm Carry Act of 2021, (commonly known as the constitutional carry bill) into law. HB 1927 (commonly known as the constitutional carry bill) will allow legally eligible gun owners 21 years and older to carry their firearms without a Texas License to Carry (“LTC”). But before you start carrying your everyday carry (“EDC”) gun openly or concealed without an LTC, there are several things you should know.
Universal background checks. Closing the “Gun Show Loophole.” Anti-gun activists and politicians at the federal and state level are proposing laws that would affect how law-abiding gun owners can buy and sell firearms. What does this current legislative push mean for you and your next firearm transfer in Texas?