Whether you are a new or a long-time gun owner, what goes into acquiring or renewing a Concealed Handgun Permit in Colorado?
Obtaining a Concealed Handgun Permit
Gun owners in Colorado are generally permitted to openly carry firearms without a Concealed Handgun Permit; however, each municipality within the state is free to regulate open carry. In order to carry concealed, you must possess a Concealed Handgun Permit.
To obtain such a permit, you must submit an application to the sheriff of the county where you reside or own a business and present valid identification, a photograph, and documents demonstrating competence with a handgun. Colorado is a “shall issue” state, meaning the sheriff must issue a Concealed Handgun Permit to an applicant who meets the qualifications—the applicant is over 21 years old, is a resident of Colorado, has demonstrated competence with a handgun, and is not legally disqualified from possessing a firearm—unless the sheriff has a reasonable belief that the person’s past behavior makes them a danger to themself or others. The requirement of demonstrated competence with a handgun can be met in several ways, though most commonly it is done by presenting proof of completion of a certified handgun training class.
Colorado Concealed Carry Permit Renewals
Once a Concealed Handgun Permit is issued, it is valid for five years, after which a renewal form must be submitted no more than one hundred twenty days prior to the expiration date. A renewal may also be obtained not more than six months after the expiration date, but keep in mind, a late fee is required, and your permit is “expired” during this period.
Renewal generally requires submission of an affidavit stating your continued eligibility to possess firearms and payment of a renewal fee (up to $50) set by the local sheriff. If a permit has been expired for more than six months, it is considered permanently expired and you must begin the application process anew. Additionally, you must “renew” your permit within thirty days of any change of address; or within three business days after the permit is lost, stolen, or destroyed.
Prohibited Places and Restrictive Signage
Even with a permit, concealed carry is subject to restrictive signage. Being mindful of the laws and policies limiting where you can carry is probably the number-one thing to consider when carrying with a Concealed Handgun Permit. These rules can sometimes get tricky. For example, permit holders may carry in most state or national parks and forests; however, concealed carry is prohibited in federally owned visitor centers or other buildings and structures within national parks.
Concealed carry is prohibited on any real estate and all facilities or buildings thereupon of a public or private educational entity. This includes elementary, middle, junior high, high, or vocational schools; colleges or universities; and seminaries. Further, concealed carry is prohibited in any public building where fixed security checkpoints are present, such as courthouses, secure areas of airports, offices and buildings of the general assembly, and federal buildings, as well as anywhere prohibited by federal law.
While we hope this brief overview of concealed carry in Colorado is helpful, the law regarding concealed carry can be nuanced. For any questions regarding obtaining a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit, call U.S. LawShield and ask to speak to your Independent Program Attorney.
The information provided in this publication is intended to provide general information to individuals and is not legal advice. The information included in this publication may not be quoted or referred to in any other publication without the prior written consent of U.S. LawShield, to be given or withheld at our discretion. The information is not a substitute for, and does not replace the advice or representation of a licensed attorney. We strive to ensure the information included in this publication is accurate and current, however, no claim is made to the accuracy of the information and we are not responsible for any consequences that may result from the use of information in this publication. The use of this publication does not create an attorney-client relationship between U.S. LawShield, any independent program attorney, and any individual.
Leave A Comment