Concealed Pistol License in Michigan

More than a million Michigan residents have already obtained their Concealed Pistol License in Michigan (“CPL”). One reason so many Michiganders have decided to exercise their Second Amendment rights is that since 2001, Michigan has been a “shall issue” state. This means that with few exceptions, all Michigan citizens have a right to conceal carry.

How to Obtain a Concealed Pistol License in Michigan (CLP)

To obtain a CPL, you must file an application with the county clerk where you reside. This application can be downloaded from the State Police website but should not be signed until you file it. You will then be placed under oath by the clerk and sign your application in their presence. You must also pay a $100 filing fee and have your fingerprints taken, which should cost an additional $15.

Additionally, you must be at least 21 years old and a resident of the state of Michigan for at least six months prior to filing your application. Proof of residency includes a valid, lawfully obtained Michigan driver’s license or an official Michigan personal identification card and/or demonstrating that you are lawfully registered to vote in Michigan. Applicants on active-duty status are also considered residents if Michigan is their home state of record or they are permanently stationed in Michigan.

Michigan Concealed Pistol License Course

In addition to the application and fingerprints, you must also present a certificate indicating that you’ve attended an appropriate pistol safety training course or class. These classes include information about gun safety, use of force law, and range training where you will shoot a pistol under the supervision of an instructor.

Criminal Background Check

Any felony conviction will make you ineligible for a CPL, as will certain misdemeanor violations. However, with misdemeanor violations you may be eligible after enough time has passed since your conviction. The Michigan statutes addressing CPL eligibility contain a full listing of specific disqualifying misdemeanors that trigger such ineligibility, as well as the associated time requirements, and are available here.

Enjoying this content? Find out how you can get more essential updates and self-defense information just like this sent straight to your inbox.

Other Requirements

A person is also ineligible for a CPL if they have ever been hospitalized involuntarily for a mental health issue, have been subject to involuntary alternative treatment, or have been deemed legally incapacitated by a court. In addition, a person found not guilty by reason of insanity or who has a personal protection order issued against them will be ineligible for a CPL in Michigan.

Concealed Pistol License Renewal in Michigan

Unless renewed, a Michigan CPL expires after five years. Fortunately, renewing your CPL is easy and only requires a few things. You must pay a $115 renewal fee, spend at least three hours reviewing the “required training,” and have at least one hour of range time in the previous six months. You will confirm all of this by signing the renewal application.

You Must Follow All Gun Laws

The surest way to lose your CPL rights is to violate the criminal law. The most common way this happens is by failing to properly notify law enforcement that you are carrying. If you have contact with the police, you must disclose that you are carrying and provide a copy of your CPL as well as your state ID to the police officer. Your failure to disclose that you are carrying is a violation of Michigan law that will result in being issued a civil infraction ticket punishable by a $500 fine and a suspension of your CPL for five years. A second offense will result in a lifetime revocation of your CPL. Further, if your CPL has expired and you nevertheless conceal carry, you are likely to be charged with a five-year felony. You must always be aware of the places where you may or may not carry your firearm, and of course, never use alcohol or drugs while carrying.

For any questions regarding getting a license to carry in the State of Michigan, such as Michigan concealed pistol license reciprocity call U.S. LawShield and ask to speak to your Independent Program Attorney.

Your Protection Starts Here!


The information provided in this publication is intended to provide general information to individuals and is not legal advice. The information included in this publication may not be quoted or referred to in any other publication without the prior written consent of U.S. LawShield, to be given or withheld at our discretion. The information is not a substitute for, and does not replace the advice or representation of a licensed attorney. We strive to ensure the information included in this publication is accurate and current, however, no claim is made to the accuracy of the information and we are not responsible for any consequences that may result from the use of information in this publication. The use of this publication does not create an attorney-client relationship between U.S. LawShield, any independent program attorney, and any individual.